Breaking the Silence: “Where the Shadows Dance” by Dana Killion

Best known for her “Andrea Kellner Mystery” series, Dana Killion traversed the line between fiction and non-fiction with the release of “Where the Shadows Dance: He Got Sober. I Got Broken,” her first memoir.

where the shadows dance

A powerful personal journal, the book delves into the heartbreaking journey of fighting for her husband’s sobriety while becoming collateral damage in his self-destruction. It is a story born of a life in turmoil and her husband’s addiction, a situation where the only way through was to write it.

And as Ms. Killion wrote, the themes in her personal trauma became clear and loud and screamed for attention because they are the themes of many women, not just women with an addict in her life, but women who have been silent and who have set aside their truth for the benefit of another. Women ready to find the strength and solace Dana has found through her own reinvention.

“Where the Shadows Dance is a story for women who have been caretakers and support staff,” says Killion. “A story for women who have suppressed their needs and are looking for the courage to do one small thing for themselves because they need to feel valued. It is a story for women with addicts in their lives who feel invisible, shoved to the background by the incessant demands of the disease. It is a story for women no longer willing to live silently in the shadows.”

This raw dive into Killion’s personal life is for every woman who has set aside her life for the needs of another. It is a story of secrecy and what happens when we face a life based on illusion. It is a story that resonates with anyone who has loved an addict, shedding light on their suppressed needs and offering the courage to prioritize self-worth.

Where the Shadows Dance: He Got Sober. I Got Broken
Publisher: ‎ Amplify Publishing; 1st edition (May 18, 2023)
Publication date: ‎ May 18, 2023
Language: ‎ English
Print length: ‎ 259 pages
Available in Hardcover, Kindle and Audio